WBHM Wins Four Regional Murrow Awards

Posted by .


WBHM has won four 2019 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) for the region including Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi.

“The real winner here is our audience. Our talented newsroom is dedicated to telling stories that matter to Alabamians,” says WBHM Executive Director Chuck Holmes. “We’re thrilled to get this recognition today. Our journalists earned these Regional Murrow Awards. The bigger reward is connecting daily with our listeners and readers right here at home.”

The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world. RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. The awards were given for work broadcast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2018.

“Please join me in congratulating the news staff for having done an outstanding job,” says WBHM News Director Gigi Douban. “They’ve produced consistently smart reporting over the course of the year to earn this prestigious recognition.”

WBHM won awards for:


“The news team has been persistent in its pursuit of important stories,” says Douban. “They’ve put in long days and they’ve shown a firm commitment to delivering solid local news coverage to our audience on air and online. Bravo!”

A record 4,600 entries were submitted for this year’s competition. This year’s winners were judged in 14 regions and represent 309 local radio and TV newsrooms. These winners will move on to the national round of judging, which also includes digital and network news organizations as well as student awards.

“The journalists behind this year’s awards have a deep connection to the communities where they live,” said Dan Shelley, RTDNA’s Executive Director. “Their reporting demonstrated a level of care for and awareness of their communities that isn’t always popular to highlight when we talk about journalism. The stories they told go deeper than the surface of problems and celebrations and gave viewers insight into topics and places they may not encounter in their daily lives. The Edward R. Murrow Awards demonstrate how journalists help us break out of our echo chambers, and contribute to productive public dialogue that brings communities together for positive change.”

A complete list of the 2018 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners can be found at rtdna.org.

Audrey Atkins

Audrey Atkins

Director of Community Engagement