WBHM Wins Seven Regional Murrow Awards

Posted by .

 ======= Old =========1488321140 

Public Radio WBHM 90.3 FM has won seven 2015 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).

WBHM’s competition region includes Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi.

The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world. RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971.

WBHM won the regional award for Overall Excellence. Contributors included Dan Carsen, Michael Krall, Rachel Osier Lindley, Les Lovoy, Andrew Yeager and Sarah Delia. The awards were given for work broadcast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2014.

WBHM also won awards for:

–       Newscast: Andrew Yeager

–       Breaking News: Dan Carsen, Sarah Delia, Michael Krall, Rachel Osier Lindley, Andrew Yeager, April 2014 Tornadoes

–       Continuing Coverage: Dan Carsen, Sarah Delia, Rachel Osier Lindley, Les Lovoy, Andrew Yeager, Alabama’s Prison Problems

–       Feature Reporting: Dan Carsen, 3D Printing Pediatric Prosthetics: Changes For A Little Girl, And Much More

–       Investigative Reporting: Dan Carsen, Reward or Waste? Contracts Bring Controversy in Vestavia Hills Schools

–       Writing: Dan Carsen, In Rural Alabama, In Rural Alabama, Fighting HIV With A Game.

“WBHM strives to cover important events and also go deep on major issues in our community and across Alabama,” said WBHM General Manager Scott Hanley. “WBHM is grateful to RTDNA for this recognition of the depth, breadth, and quality of our coverage.”

“When newsrooms do outstanding work to inform their audience and serve their community, it should be celebrated,” said RTDNA Chair Amy Tardif. “Being recognized with one of journalism’s most prestigious awards is one way to showcase their commitment to excellence.”

This year, RTDNA awarded 673 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories. RTDNA received more than 4,200 entries during the 2015 awards season, setting an all-time record for the third year in a row.

“At a time when news reaches people in so many ways, these awards become even more meaningful,” added RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender. “It is a tangible reminder of the high quality local journalism being done across the country.”

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May.

A complete list of the 2015 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners can be found on RTDNA’s regional winners page.

About WBHM

Public Radio WBHM 90.3 FM, a listener-supported service of the University of Alabama at Birmingham, is “Your NPR News Station” and home to the Alabama Radio Reading Service, a resource for the blind and print-impaired. WBHM programming and award-winning regional journalism also can be heard in North Central Alabama on WSGN 91.5 FM through a partnership with Gadsden State Community College. Listen and give online at WBHM.org and follow the station at WBHM on Twitter and on Facebook.