WBHM Wins Eight Alabama AP Awards

Posted by .

 ======= Old =========1458719150 

WBHM 90.3 FM/WSGN 91.5 FM has won a total of eight 2014 Alabama Associated Press awards and received three honorable mentions. The awards were given for work broadcast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2013 and were presented at a luncheon July 19 in Birmingham.

Contributors included team members Andrew Yeager, Dan Carsen, Sarah Delia, Rachel Osier Lindley, Scott Hanley, Larry Lee, Michael Krall, Greg Bass, Courtney Haden and former WBHM News Director Tanya Ott.


WBHM won awards for:

This is just the latest group of awards WBHM has received in 2014. Earlier this year, WBHM was awarded more regional 2014 Edward R. Murrow Awards than any other station in the large market radio category winning eight individual awards. The Murrow Awards are presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).

WBHM reporter and Morning Edition host Andrew Yeager was recognized for his body of work throughout 2013 with the 2014 Judges Award of Merit for Large Market Reporter from the Alabama Broadcasters Association, and WBHM Education Reporter Dan Carsen received The Education Writers Association’s Second Place Prize for Beat Reporting.

“WBHM is committed to sharing the stories of North Central Alabama as we work to inform citizens, build a better community, and enrich the cultural environment,” said Scott Hanley, the station’s general manager. “We appreciate the recognition of WBHM’s team, which is also a salute to our listeners and supporters who make award-winning journalism possible for our community every day.”


WBHM’s award-winning reporters Dan Carsen and Andrew Yeager.